Crete Island

Crete (Κρήτη) is the largest and most populous of the Greek islands and is in the Mediterranean Sea between the Sea of Crete and the Libyan Sea, at the southest part of the Aegean Sea. Its the fifth largest island in Mediterranean after Sicily, Sardinia, Cyprus, and Corsica. The population is approximately 650,000 and it is not just sun, sea and sand; it is a quite distinct place full of vitality, culture, warmth, hospitality and of course an excellent infrastructure.

Crete is approximately 260 km long and 60 km wide and it is divided into four prefectures (from west to east).:

  1. Chania
  2. Rethimno
  3. Heraklion
  4. Lasithi

The capital and the largest city is Heraklion which is the 7th most populated place in Greece.

Dodecanese map